Find out more information on the history and current happenings of the homestead and museum here.....

     Thank You to all who attended our Ribbon Cutting for our Metcalfe Arts and Events Center.  The Weather was beautiful after all the August rain we have experienced.  We had guests from different areas of Oklahoma and Texas.  Our delicious meal was catered by Todd and Shannon Welty of Welty’s Grocery and Deli of Leedey.  It was an outstanding time for friends and neighbors to get together for visiting and sharing a meal. 

     One of the special times of the evening was when Billy and Loretta Whitfield entertained us with their music.  They were special friends of Howard, Helen and Augusta for years.  Billy was born in the little red rock house that stood up on the hill.  Billy shared stories of the Metcalfe family and had pictures and a painting that Augusta did for him.  Bill and Loretta always make their visits special for us.  They remember so much about how it was before the passing of Howard, Helen and Augusta.

     Our evening was concluded with Terry Detrick, President of American Farmers and Ranchers giving us an encouraging speech about the insurance company.  Terry is an excellent leader.  He keeps abreast of what is going on in our state capital and Washington D. C.  He fights for the farmer and rancher.  Terry was impressed with all the young people we had in attendance.  He is such a strong believer in supporting our youth organizations such as 4-H and FFA. 

     Terry’s guests for the evening were Mason Mungle of Norman, Pete McDaniel of Apache and Pete’s daughter Darla McDaniel of Drinnon, Texas.

     Visit our web or email or call 580-655-4467